top of page

One year of Motherhood

I’m a mom.

What’s your super power?

Exactly another 30 days for the big ONE and I still cant believe that I am a mom. One year ago I entered into this whole new world of motherhood and GOD! So many things have changed dramatically.

There were definitely a few hard days and some achingly beautiful ones. A year ago I was scared and anxious of what the future is going to be like and if I am going to be that perfect mother. Then the time arrived, nothing went as planned but we experienced the rawest moments of our life this far.

Now almost at the end of this beautiful year all I want is to hit the ‘pause’ button and enjoy every small precious moment. The wet kisses, endless giggles for nothing and his toothless smile. Because if there’s one thing every mom knows is how time passes by in a blink of an eye.

So I quickly decided to write down some of the important things I learnt during the first year.

  • There is no such thing as a perfect mom! Learn from your mistakes. Stay humble. Try things out and leave them behind shamelessly if they don’t work out. Motherhood isn’t a contest or a game after all.

  • The opinions. They keep coming from every stranger or the judgmental old ladies or know-it-all childless Google people. Just listen, ignore, smile, and say a thank you. Absorb the things you want and do what’s best for your child. I am still in the process of learning this.

  • Take help and take time for yourself – for the first few months, I wanted to do all the things perfectly by myself. Then as the days went by I was getting tired and exhausted because of the sleepless nights, around the clock feeding and changing. That’s when I realized that there is no award for being overworked up or exhausted.

  • You don’t need all that stuff – I read this a year ago! But I still went ahead and bought all that stuff. If you are a new mom you know what I mean. The truth is that babies really don’t need that much.

  • I think motherhood teaches you to be patient, humble, graceful, and love selflessly. I remember reading this somewhere “There’s a reason why God uses paternal metaphors to describe his relationship with us; the love we have for our children is just a microscopic hint of how well he cares for us, and loving them will teach us more about him”. So true right?

The love we have for our little ones is overwhelming.


Show some love here !

bottom of page